« PreviousContinue »
was also one of the translators of the Genevan Bible. 19
EDMUND GRINDAL, D. D. who revised all the lesser Prophets, was an eminent prelate, a native of Cumberland, where he was born in 1519.
At a suitable age he was sent to Magdalen College, in Cambridge, but removed thence to Christ's, and afterwards to PembrokeHall; where he was chosen fellow, in 1538, and commenced M. A. in 1541, having served the office of junior bursar of his college the preceding year. In 1548, he was appointed senior proctor of the university. In 1549, he became president [vice-master] of his college; and was afterwards unanimously chosen lady Margaret's public preacher. His distinguished merit recommending him to the notice of Bishop Ridley, that prelate appointed him his chaplain, in 1550. The next year he was made one of the king's chaplains; and in 1552, obtained a prebendary's stall in Westminster Abbey, which, however, he resigned to Dr. Bonner. He was also designed to have been one of the two bishops of Durham, if it had been divided, as was intended on the death of Dr. Tonstall. The death of the king beclouded his prospects, and in 1553, he fled into Germany, where he resided at Strasburg, and made himself master of the German language, in order to preach in the churches. In the disputes which arose at Frankfort, relative to the English ServiceBook, he joined the party of Dr. Coxe, against John Knox, and his followers. On the accession of Queen Elizabeth he returned to England, and was employed among others, in drawing up the new Liturgy to be presented to the queen's first parliament; and was also one of the eight divines selected for a public disputation with the popish prelates. In 1559, he was chosen master of Pembroke-Hall, in the place of Dr. John Young, who refused to take the oath of supremacy. This office, which he accepted with reluctance, he resigned in May, 1562 ; (19) See p. 136 of this volume.
having in the mean time (1559) been nominated to the bishoprick of London, vacant by the deposition of Bonner. In 1564, he took the degree of D. D. at Cambridge, and the same year executed the queen's express command, for exacting uniformity in the clergy, but proceeded so mildly and slowly, that he was suspected of favouring the Puritan party. In 1570, he was translated to the see of York ; and on the the death of Archbishop Parker, was translated to Canterbury, and confirmed in that see, February 15th, 1575. Soon after his elevation, he fell under the displeasure of Queen Elizabeth for favouring the meetings for the improvement of the clergy, which were denominated PROPHESYINGS, and which it was alleged, created disputes, and diverted the laity from their secular affairs. She therefore required him to abridge the number of preachers, and put down the religious exercises, urging that it was good for the church to have few preachers, that three or four might suffice for a county, and that the reading of the Homilies to the people was sufficient. The good bishop conceiving that the queen infringed upon his office, and that to act as she wished him would be injurious to the interests of religion, wrote a faithful letter to her Majesty,* declaring that his conscience would not suffer him to comply with her commands : this refusal was dated December 20th, 1576. The following year, the archbishop was sequestered from his office, and confined to his house, by order of the court of the star-chamber. After some time the confinement was taken off, and he was permitted partially, and occasionally, to exercise his archiepiscopal functions, and about the year 1580, or 1581, was restored to his office, as we find him in full possession of his metropolitical power, in 1582; in which
in 1582; in which year, he also appears to have lost his eye-sight; and being broken down by hard study and infirmities, and losing all hopes of recovering his sight, he resigned his see towards the close of that year, and received a pension for life. With this provision he retired to Croydon, at which place he died July 6th, 1583, and was interred in that church, where a stone monument was erected to his memory.
* Extracts from this letter will be found in a subsequent part of this volume.
The archbishop enumerated among his friends and correspondents many of the most eminent foreign reformers, Luther, Melancthon, Calvin, Bucer, Peter Martyr, Bullinger, Zanchius, and others; he was also very instrumental in obtaining a settlement for the French Protestants in their own way of worship, who were allowed to assemble in the Walloon church in Threadneedlestreet, which has ever since been a French church. He lived and died unmarried, and at his death bequeathed £30. per annum, for the maintenance of a free grammarschool, at St. Begh's, in Cumberland, beside a considerable sum for erecting it, and various bequests to several colleges at Cambridge. During his exile, he assisted John Fox, in the compilation of his “Acts and Monuments," or Martyrology, and it is said to have been owing to his strict and tender regard to truth, that the work was so long in hand; for he rejected all common reports and relations that were carried over, till more satisfactory evidence could be procured, having established a correspondence in England, for the purpose of obtaining accurate information relative to the sufferers in Queen Mary's reign. It was also by his advice that Mr. Fox first printed separately at Basil, various histories of the English bishops and divines, soon after their respective persecutions and martyrdoms; and that he at length published his laborious and invaluable work in English as well as Latin. It is of less importance, but it may
be worth noticing, that Grindal, who, by the way, is the Algrind of Spenser, first brought the Tamarisk to Eng
land, so useful in medicine, when he returned from his exile.20
In the first edition of the “Bishops' Bible," printed in 1568, the initial letters W. C. are placed at the end of the Book of WISDOM; and at the conclusion of the APOCRYPHA, J. N. but in the subsequent editions, the initial letters J. N. only are retained ; so that although John, (PARKHURST,) bishop of Norwich, might afterwards revise the whole of the Apocrypha, it is probable that WILLIAM, (BARLOWE,) bishop of Chichester, translated or revised to the end of the book of Wisdom, which Chalmers says he did in the reign of Edward VI.
WILLIAM BARLowe, D. D. born in the county of Essex, was at first a monk in the Augustine monastery of St Osith, in Essex, and educated there and at Oxford, where the religious of that order had an abbey and a priory. Having obtained a competent knowledge of divinity, he was created doctor in that faculty. He was afterwards prior of the canons of his order at Bisham, in Berkshire, and by that title was sent on an embassy to Scotland, in 1535. At the dissolution of the monasteries, he not only resigned the house of which he was prior, but prevailed upon several abbots and friars to follow his example. The king being pleased with his ready submission, appointed him bishop of St. Asaph, and he was accordingly consecrated, February 22nd, 1535. The next year he was translated to St. David's, and in 1547 to Bath and Wells. On the accession of Queen Mary, however, he suffered a severe reverse of fortune, by the loss of his bishoprick, and imprisonment in the Fleet, from whence he escaped to Germany, where he experienced various hardships, till the inauguration of Queen
(20) Chalmers' Gen. Biog. Dict. XVI. pp. 345-353. Brook's Lives of the Puritans, I.
330. (21) Sir E. Brydges' Censura Literaria, VI. p. 49, 2nd edit.
Chalmers' Gen. Biog, Dict, III. p. 489.
Elizabeth, when he returned to England. On his return to his native land he was advanced to the see of Chichester, December, 1559; and the next year made prebendary of Westminster, which dignity he held five years with his bishoprick. He died in August, 1568, and was buried in Chichester cathedral. He had six sons, one of whom, William, was an eminent mathematician and divine; and five daughters, all of whom were married to bishops. He wrote Christian Homilies; The godly and pious institution of a Christian man, commonly called “The Bishop's Book,” London, 1537; and other works.
John PARKHURST, D. D. who was employed in translating or revising the APOCRYPHA, from the book of Wisdom to the end, was born at Guildford, in Surrey, in 1511, and was educated at the grammar-school in that place. In 1529, he was elected fellow of Merton College, Oxford, and three years afterwards entered into holy orders. He was subsequently tutor to Bishop Jewell. He is also mentioned as one of the chaplains of Queen Katherine Parr. Being presented to the rich benefice of Bishop's Clive, in Gloucestershire, he expended considerable sums in hospitality and charity; and in particular patronized and afforded great pecuniary assistance to his pupil Jewell, for the promotion of his studies at the university. After the death of Edward VI. he joined the exiles abroad, and resided at Zurich, in Switzerland, till the death of Queen Mary, when he returned to England, and was raised to the see of Norwich, in 1560. In the conduct of his diocese he behaved towards the Puritans with mildness, and never entered willingly into any measures of severity against them. He died February 2nd, 1574, in the 63rd year of his age, and was buried in the nave of the cathedral of Norwich. He married Margaret, daughter of Thomas Garnish, Esq. of Kenton, in Suffolk. His Ludicra, sive Epigrammata juvenilia, printed by (22) Chalmers, III. pp. 488, 489.