« PreviousContinue »
church, and having become fond of retirement, he declined the invitation, pleading his infirmities and inabilities. These statesmen, who with the queen, considered him as the most proper person to fill the archiepiscopal see of Canterbury, were only the more convinced by his reluctance, of the wisdom of their choice ; and he was accordingly consecrated, on December 17th, 1559, in Lambeth chapel, and not as his Catholic opponents afterwards contemptuously and falsely asserted, at the Nag's Head Tavern, in Cheapside. The subsequent history of the archbishop is that of the church of England; for his public life, the reader is therefore referred to his biographer, Strype, or to the various ecclesiastical histories of that period, and to Neal's History of the Puritans, vol. I., where characters very different from each other are given of him, according to the different views entertained of him by the High-church, and Puritan parties.
Of his erudition and zeal for the promotion of learning there is but one opinion, and all parties are agreed in granting him the meed of being a diligent and laborious antiquary, and the liberal friend of literature in general. He kept in his house, drawers of pictures, engravers, wood-cutters, printers, limners, book-binders, and writers. One of these, whose name was LYLYE, who was an excellent penman, and could counterfeit any antiqne writing, was usually employed by the archbishop in making old books complete, by transcription from others. Among his engravers, one was a foreigner named Hogenberg, and another was called Lyne. He was also the particular friend and patron of the famous printer, John Day, whose success and patronage induced the envy of the rest of his fraternity, who adopted illiberal methods to prevent the sale of his books, so that at one time he had two or three thousand pounds worth on hand; a great sum in those days! The revision and republication of the Bible was a favourite object with the archbishop, and “so highly
pleased was the good prelate when he saw an end put to this great work, that he seemed to be in the same spirit with old Simeon, using his very words : 'Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace, according to thy word; for mine eyes have seen thy salvation.”
have seen thy salvation.” Beside this Bible, called the Bishops' Bible, and the metrical version of the Psalms, he published editions of several of our best ancient historians, Matthew of Westminster, Matthew Paris, Thomas Walsingham, and Asser, the biographer of Alfred; Ælfric's Saxon Homily on the Sacrament; and planned the work, entertained the writers, and supplied the materials, (at least,) of the celebrated collection entitled, De Antiquitate Britannico Ecclesiæ, printed in a folio volume, in 1572, probably at Lambeth, editions of which have been published at Hanover, in 1605, and by Dr. Drake, in 1729. To the university of Cambridge, and particularly to Corpus Christi, or Bene't College, he was a munificent benefactor; founding, at his own expense, many fellowships and scholarships; and for the convenience and benefit of the scholars, allotted them chambers in the college, which he furnished with beds, tables, chairs, &c. and procured certain books for them which were ordered to be chained in one of the chambers, the catalogue of which is thus given by Strype:
“Textus BIBLIÆ cum Gloss. Lyræ, in quatuor Voluminibus.
Historia Antiquitat, Cantabrigiæ. Anno 1554." The Archbishop was also the founder of the first Society of Antiquaries, over which he presided during his life, and in this office was succeeded by Archbishop Whitgift. As
his fortune increased, and his influence extended, he employed his property and interest, in accumulating collections, or transcripts of MSS. and other rare works; and such was his ardour in these pursuits, that he had agents in almost all places, abroad and at home, for the purpose of securing every thing that was curious, precious, and rare. By the queen's permission, the archbishop, or his deputies, were allowed to peruse all the records of the suppressed religious houses. One of his agents, Stephen Batman, or Bateman, in a work entitled The Doom, informs us, that by his grace's commission, he “gathered within four years, of divinity, astronomy, history, physic, and others of sundry arts and sciences, six thousand seven hundred books.” The greater part of his books and MSS. he bequeathed to the university of Cambridge, forming a collection which Fuller says was “The Sun of English Antiquity, before it was eclipsed by that of Sir Robert Cotton.” The domestic habits and personal appearance of the archbishop are described, by his biographer, as being simple and grave. After a long and active life, he died May 17th, 1575, in his 71st year, and was buried in his own chapel at Lambeth ; but during the usurpation, bis bones were taken up, and thrown into a dunghill, from whence they were removed in Archbishop Sancroft's time, and replaced in the midst of the area of the chapel. The following epitaph upon Archbishop Parker, which was affixed to a libel against him, is highly creditable to him, when considered as written by an adversary :
“ MATTHEW PARKER, liued sober and wise
He lyved unto God, to God he mad his ende.” The work which contained this epitaph was entitled “The Life off the 70th Archbishop of Canterbury, presentlye sittinge, Englished, and to be added to the 69 lately sett forth in Latin, &c." 12mo., 1574. The supposed original painting of Parker, at Bene't College, Cambridge, is said by Dibdin, to be nothing more than one of the rare ancient prints, prefixed to some copies of the “Antiquity of the British Church,” delicately coloured."
WILLIAM ALLEY, or ALLEIGH, D. D. the translator of the “Pentateuch” in the “Bishops' Bible,” was born at Great Wycomb,in Buckinghamshire, and educated at Eton school. In 1528, he went to Cambridge, where he took a bachelor's degree; but subsequently pursued his studies at Oxford. He afterwards married, was presented to a living, and became a zealous reformer. When Queen Mary came to the crown, he left his cure, and retired into: the north of England, where he maintained himself by keeping a school, and practising physic. On the accession of Elizabeth, he was appointed divinity lecturer at St. Pauls, London; and in July, 1560 was consecrated bishop of Exeter. He died April 15th, 1570, and was buried at Exeter. He was the author of The Poor Man's Library, 2 vols. fol. 1571; A Hebrew Grammar; and other works. His great grandson, the Rev. Peter ALLEY, was for seventy-three years rector of Donamow, in Queen's County, Ireland; and died so lately as August, 1763, at the very great age of 110 years and two months, having served his own cure till within a few days of his death.
Richard Davies, D. D. another of the bishops engaged with Archbishop Parker, in the revision and publication of the Bible, was also one of the translators of the Welsh Bible.18
EDWARD Sandys, D. D. the learned prelate to whom (11) Strype's Life of Archbishop Parker, B. iii. ch. xxv. p. 291 ; and
B. iv. sec. iv. pp. 540, 541.
Dibdin's Bibliomania, pp. 338—340. 20d edit.
was committed the charge of translating, or revising the books of Samuel, Kings, and Chronicles, was born near Hawkshead, in Furness Fells, Lancashire, in 1519; and educated, it is supposed, at the school of Furness Abbey, from which he was removed to St. John's College, Cambridge, in 1532 or 1533. In 1547, he was elected master of Catherine-hall, and probably at that time held the vicarage of Haversham, in Buckinghamshire, his first considerable preferment; to which, in 1548, was added a prebend of Peterborough, and in 1552, the second stall at Carlisle ; about which time he married a beautiful and pious lady, of his own name. In 1553, he was chosen vice chancellor of the university. Being a zealous friend of the Reformation, he seconded the pretensions to the crown of Lady Jane Grey; but on the fall of that amiable and unfortunate personage, Sandys was marked out for vengeance, and on his arrival in London, from the university, ordered to be confined to the tower. The yeomen of the guard took from him every thing which he had been permitted to bring from Cambridge, and when his faithful servant Quintin Swainton, brought him a Bible, and some few necessary articles of clothing, the warders stole everything but the Bible. After three weeks solitary confinement, he was removed to a better apartment, where he enjoyed the society of John Bradford, who was afterwards martyred. During this confinement, their conversation and conduct proved the means of the conversion of the jailor, who, from being a bigoted Roman Catholic, became a sincere Protestant, and treated his prisoners with kindness. From the tower he was removed to the Marshalsea, where he also met with kindness from the keeper of the prison ; and after nine weeks confinement in that prison, was set at liberty by the intercession of Sir Thomas Holcroft, knight-marshall. But though liberated, Bishop Gardiner still meditated his ruin, and he only escaped