« PreviousContinue »
AUTHOR OF "HISTORY OF THE ANCIENT BRITONS," THE “ LIFE AND LETTERS
ENLARGED AND CORRECTED.
PRINTED AT THE AUTHOR'S PRIVATE PRESS :
A. D. 1500, Dec. 15, Thomas Hoye, by the death of Ro
bert Holcot. A. D. 1506, Dec. 19, Join Southwode S. T. B., by the re
signation of Edmund Wylleford. A. D. 1585. Nov. 22, Henry Walmysley, M. A. A. D. 1595, May 16, Humphrey Hargrave, by the resigna
tion of Robert Sibthorp, M. A. A. D. 1595, July 14, Robert Joye, M. A. by the death of
Henry Doltin. A. D. 1598, July 7, John Howson, M. A., by the death of
Humphrey Hargrave. Page 86. In the Rawlinson MS. are the following notices of arms and painted glass which existed in Old Shifford church.
Agt Nth wall of Chancell with arms : Or : chev. sab, between 3 black lions rampant of the second, impaling az, a bend or, between 3 hirs of the same.
In one of the South windows are three figures, one of a woman, the other two men: under the woman Sancta Maria, under the 2 men SANCTUS JACOBUS- SANCTUS ANTONIUS. Near the latter his pig stands under the same light. In the east wall of the church, CHRISTOPHER KEENE, Thomas Stampe, STEVEN GREENE and WILLIAM LINSEY, churchwardens of this parish, anno Domini 1668.”
Page 94. In the Oxford Institution-books, No VII, A. D. 1831, June 8. The Honorable and Right Reverend, Richard, Bishop of Oxford, licensed the Rev. Walter Postumus Powell, clerk, B. A. to the Grammar School, on the nomination of the three vicars, the Rev. C. L. Kerby, Rev. John Robinson, * and Rev. Dr. Winstanley, and the Trustees of the Grammar School.
* This is an evident error : two vicars have been made out of one, the Rev. Dr. John Robinson Winstanley. The institution-books abound in such mistakes.