Page images
PDF
EPUB
[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

REPRESENTATIVES IN PARLIAMENT FOR THE BOROUGH OF
ASKEATON, FROM THE TEAR 1613 TO THE UNION.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

HIGH SHERIFFS OF THE COUNTY OF LIMERICK SINCE THE YEAR 1371.*

1371 William Cadygan,

1372 James De la Hyde,
1376 Sir Thomas Clifford, Knt.

1-403 Thos. Kitzmaurice, brother to the Earl of Kildare.

1424 Sir William Fitzthomas, Knt.

1425 Sir William Fitzwilliam, Knt.

1453 Maurice Fitzthomas Fitzgerot Fitz

maurice Fitzgerald, 1545 Teige M'Brene, 1558 Gerald Fitzgerald, of Thomastown, 1613 George Courtenay, 1634 James Bourke,

1661 Symon Eaton,
1663 Richard Southwell,
1665 Sir William King, Knt.

1669 Arthur Ormesby,

1670 Robert Taylour,

1671 John Maunsell,

1672 George Evans,

1673 John Bury,

1674 Hugh Massy, Duntryleague,
1676 Nicholas Monckton,

1676 Giles Powell.t

1677 George Aylmer,

1678 John Odell,

quality and the exercise of the duties of a kind and exemplary landlord. ITe was elected chairman of the Ntwcastle Board of Guardian.., the duties of which he admirably fulfilled, lie died in 18G4 ,at bangor, North Wales. His remain* are Interred at tho Maui.ileum. Gahermoyle.

* There arc several omissions in the curly part of this roll, but no more perfc" one could be made out.

t Brother of Robert Powell, ancestor ot Caleb Powell, M.1'. Co. Limerick, in U4L

1679 John Odell,

1680 Gerald Fitzgerald, Knight of the Glyn, 1682 John Jeplison,

1H83 William Harrison,

1684 William Harrison,

1685 Drury Wray,

16S6 Joseph Stepney, of Abington,*

1687 Edward Rice,

1688 Edward Rice,

1689 Maurice Fitzgerald,

1690 Maurice Fitzgerald,

1692 Charles Oliver,

1693 George Mansell,

1694 Michael Searle,

1695 Ralph Wilson, of Bilboa,

1696 George King, of Kilpcaoon,

1697 Thomas Mannsell,

1698 Thomas Maunsell

1699 Richard Pope,

1700 Joseph Stepney, of Abington,

1701 John Walcot, of Crongh,

1702 Henry Widenham, of Court,

1703 William Pierce,

1704 Abraham Green, of Ballymacrees,

1705 Samuel Frend,

1706 Robert Taylor, of Ballynort.t

1707 Kichard Southwell, of Inniscouch.t

1708 Ralph Wilson, of Bohir,

1709 Edward Croker, Rawleighstowu,

1710 Robert Ryves, of Castle Jane,

1711 Hugh Massy, of Duntryleague,§

1712 John Newe'll,

1713 John Gabbett, of Rathjordan,

1714 Henry Baylee, of Lough Gur,||

1715 Thomas Maunsell, of Mount sion,

1716 Richard Taylor, of Hollypark,

1717 Samuel Maunsell, of Rally brood,

1718 Francis Drew, of Diew's Court,

1719 William Hairison, of Bnllyvorneen,

1720 Nicholas Lysaght, of Brickfield,

1721 William Wilson, of Cahirconlish,^

1722 Thomas Evans, of Miltown,**

1723 Rice Blennerhasset, of Riddlestoway

1724 Berkley Taylor, of BallynorVft
1/25 John Waller, of Castletown,

1726 William Bury, of Shannon Grove,

1727 Edward Taylor, of BalIynort,Jt

1728 Gamaliel Fitzgerald, of Cloghready,

1729 Connell Vereker, of Roxborough,

1730 John Purdon, of Tullagh.

1731 John Lysaght, of Brickfield,

1732 George Green, of Abbey,

1733 Ralph Wilson, of Bohir,

1734 Henry Green, of Ballymacrees,

1735 Kd. Croker, of Rawleighstown,

1736 Joseph Gabbett, of Ballyvomeen,

1737 Colthurst Lungton, of Bruree,

1738 Anthony Parker, of Dun kip,

1739 Hugh Massy, of Usard, §f

1740 Robert Coote, of Ballyclough,

1741 William Ryves, of Castle Jane,

1742 John Fitz Maurice, of Springfield,

1743 Hon, J. Evans, of Hnlgadin^il

1744 George Fosbery, of Clorane,

1745 John Westrop, of Attyflin,

1746 stepney Rawson Stepney, of Abington,

1747 Wyndham Quin, of Adare, H

1748 John Creed, of Uregnre,

1749 John Bateman, of C:\low,

1750 Hon. Henry Southwell, of Stoncv^s,*"

1751 Jolin Odell, of Bealdurogy,
17/-2 Hugh Massy, of Cloghonarld,

1753 Richard Powell, of New Garden,

1754 William Green, of Ballymacrees,

1755 John Croker, of Bully neguard,ttt

1756 Gerald Blenerhasset, of Riddlestown,

1757 Edward Warter Wilson, of Bilboa, 1%

1758 Richard Bourke, of Drumsally,§s§

1759 Hon. Thomas Southwell,
17li0 John Brown, of Dancsfort,

17(il Anthony Parker, jun., of Dunkip,

1762 John Thomas Waller, of Castletown,

1763 1 homas Royse, of N'antcnan,

1764 Silver Oliver, of Castle OlivejJ""

* Lord Clarendon, In his d iary, says: "Re was false to his king, his country, and bis neighbours". Els estate in Limerick now belongs to Lord Cloncurry.

t Elected member for Askcatnn, 1692,1695,1703, and 1713.

t Brother to the first Lord Southwell, and member for the county In 1737.

§ Father to Lord Baron Massy.

I Baylee, of Lough Uur, who was related to the Pery family, passed a Tery jovial career amour ths "flaunting wassallers of high and low degree". P' ssessing a Urge icrenue in determinable Interests la lattis

% Elected member for tbe city of Limerick in 1739.

•" Brother to the first Lord Carbery.

TT Electci membci for Askeaton in 1723.

It Elected member for Askeaton in 1727.

{§ Creat.d Lord Baron Massy, in 1776.

[i; Son to the first Lord Carbery.

it Elected memberfi.r Kilmaliock In 1768; died in May. 1789.

••• Second son to the first Lord Southwell, and Mayor of Limerick In 1750.

ttt Elected Member for Fethard in 1768; died in Newtown Pery, 11th February, 1795, aged <M, being bora in 1780; buried at t ahcrcarney.

Jit Edward v. artcr Wilson, of Bilboa, eldest brancli of Sir Ralph Wilson's family, married Frances Anne, daughter of the second Lord Caibery, and had issue an only child, mairied to Sir John Rouse, The Wii«s estate being settled on him, he bequeathed it to his son by a second man lage. who sold the greater part ta the year 18:10, to the Honble. Waller O'Urady, second son of Cliiel Baron Viscount Guilianmre. The nunsw* house of Bilboa was a large pile, (built of brick impoited fiotn Holland, about the year 17<0.) with an rxseieire well timbered demesne, deer park, containing 400 acres, etc The insurgents attacked Bilboa Coan a 1798, and canted away large quantities of had and copper from the roof.

{{§ Created a baronet in 1785 Eldest son of Richard Bourke, of Drunually. a solicitor, who was grssttmmdiatlicr of the lat • General Sir Kichard Bourke. of Thonlelda, and Kreai-.r, st-^rai dfathrr of Kicaarl Boaike, Esq., of i honflelils, one of the Inspectors of Irish Poor Laws, and of Sir Richard HoineJUfl Hi Bnmo. Bait., of Island House, rustle Council. Richaid, thu so iciti.r, la said to hare left £100.uov to k"» children. He died, ase-l 80, in 1746.

Hill Elected a member for Kilmaliock In 1757. In the room of William lllakcney. Esq , and at the gexrtl election in I'M, he was elected to the same borough. In 1763 he was returned o Parliament for tLeceestJ 1765 Hngh Massy, of Ballynort,* 1799 De Couroy O'Grady, of Kilballyowen,

1766 George Rose, of Mount Pleasant, 1800 George Evans Bruce, of Hermitage,***

1767 Edward Villiers, of Ki!peacon,t 1801 John Hunt, of Ballynort,

1768 Richard Taylor, of Holly Park, 1802 William Jackson Harte, of Coolruss,

1769 Standish Grady, of Elton, 1808 Bolton Waller, of Bushy Island,

1770 Thomas Smyth, of Bohirlode.t 1804 Thomas Gibbon Fitzgibbon, of Bally

1771 Hugh Ingoldsby Massy, of New Garden,§ seeds,

1772 Simon Purdon, of Cloghnedromin, 1805 Thomas O'Grady, of Belmont, ttt

1773 Caleb Powell, of Clonshavoy,|| 1806 Joseph Gubbins, of Kcnmare Castle,

1774 John Tuthill, of Kilmore, 1807 Stephen Dickson, jun., of Ballynaguile,

1775 William Gabbett, of Caherline,*/ 1808 Brudenell Plummer, of Mount Plum

1776 Benjamin Frend, of Boskill, mer,

1777 Edward Croker, of Riverstown, 1809 Thomas Alexander Odell, of Odellville,

1778 William Fitzgerald, of Ballinard," 1810 Eyre Evans, of Ash-hill,

1779 William Odell, of Fortwilliam, 18] 1 Aubrey De Vere Hunt, of Currah,

1780 Hugh Lloyd, of Kildromin, 1812 Gerald Blennerhassett, of Riddlestown,

1781 John Grady, of Cahir, 1813 William Gabbett, of Caherline,

1782 John Fitzgibbon, of Mount Shannon,ft 1814 Richard Smyth, of Smythfield,

1783 Percival Harte, of Ccolruss, 1815 William Ryves, of Ryves Castle,

1784 Sir Vere Hunt, of Curragh, Bart, 1816 Thomas Royse, of Nantenan,

1785 Darby O'Grady, of Mount Prospect,Jt 1817 John Lowe, of Castle Jane,

1786 Jnmes Langton, of Brure'e, 1818 Richard Taylor, of Holly Park,

1787 Michael Furnell, of Ballyclough, 1819 Michael Lloyd Apjohn, of Linfield,

1788 Sir Christopher Knight, Knight, of 1820 Edward Villiers, of Kilpeacon,

Limerick,§§ 1821 De Courcy O'Grady, of Kilballyowen,

1789 Crosbie Morgell, of Rathkeale,|||| 1822 John Thomas Waller, of Castletown,

1790 Standish O'Grady, of Mount Prospect, 1823 George Tuthill, of Faha,

1791 C. Silver Oliver, of Castle Oliver, 1824 Joseph Gubbins, of Kilfrusb,

1792 John Waller, of Castletown,HU 1825 Hon. John Massy, of Limerick,

1793 Thomas Fitzgibbon, 1826 John Bolton Massy, of Bally wire,

1794 John T. Westropp, of Ballysteen, 1827 Chidley Coote, of Mount Coote,

1795 Michael Furnell, of Ballycahane, 1828 Samuel Dickson, Limerick,

1796 Henry Bevan, of Camas, 1829 William Scanlan, Ballynockane,

1797 M. Scanlan, jun, of Ballinaha, 1830 Jn. F. Fitzgerald (Knight of Glin),

1798 John Westropp, of Attyflin, 1831 John Croker, Ballinagarde,

of Limerick, and at the general election of ITS!), his health not permitting him to to undergo the fatigues of a senator, he declined to offer himself a candidate for this county.

•Son of Lord Massy, elected Member for Askeaton In 1701, and for the county of Limerick In 1788. Among a collection of portraits at Clonsha voy, the residence of Caleb Powell, Esq., ex-M.P., Is one of the Rev. George Massy, Archdeacon of Ardfert, next brother of the first Lord Massy, and known In his generation by the soubriquet of " Dirty Hoots", which originated as follows: About the year x.i> 1760, the public communication between Limerick and Dublin was effected by a cumbrous machine, drawn by four horses, consuming four days and n-halt transporting the passengers, who it may be supposed must have learned something of each other during the journey, and the lie v. George Massy having ascertained that oae of his ctmpagnons de voyage was a clergyman of considerable political Influence (the way to church preferment, in those days at least), about to apply for a benefice then vacant, and in the gift of tho government—the very one which the Rev. George Massy was about to apply for—he, without delaying to change his travelling attire, repaired forthwith from his conveyance to the Cattle of Dublin, had an interview with the then Irish Secretary, who at once complied with his request, and bestowed upon him the living In question. Very shortly after, bis competitor, who had gone to a hotel to change his dress, made his appearance in full figure in the Secretary's apartment, just as the Rev. George Massy withdrew from it; and having preferred his claim, the Secretary exclaimed, " How unlucky you are, sir! Dirty Hoots, whom you must have met, has just got it". The venerable Archdeacon kept a pack of hounds at Elm Park, was "a mighty hunter before the Lord", extremely hospitable, lived jovially till upwards of 80, and expired suddenly in an apoplectic fit, bequeathing his estate to his youngest brother, General Eyre Massy, created Baron Clarlna in 1600, and was grandfather of the present nobleman bearing that title.

| Elected Member for Kllmallock in 17G1, and Mayor of Limerick lu 1762.

X Mayor of Limerick In 1764 and 177'.. and elected a memberfor the city In 1776.

g Son of Hugh Massy, of Knockevan, Mayor of Limerick, 1792; left a son, Hugh Ingoldsby, who died without Issue, and left his estate to his cousin, third Lord Massy, who sold it to John Massy, Esq., of Limerick.

II Caleb Powell, Collector of Limerick, grandfather of Caleb Powell, Sheriff In 1858.

*i Mayor of Limerick in 1775.

»« Mayor of Limerick in 1786.

tr Elected Member for Kllmallock in 1783, became afterwards Earl of Clare, and Lord High Chancellor ol Ireland.

Jj Father of Chief Baron O'Grady, created Viscount Guillamore.

v§ Mayor of Limerick in 1786.

Illl An Attorney, of whom Daniel O'Connell used to speak disparagingly.

T1T Elected Member for the County in 1720.

••• Mr. Bruce, who purchased the estate of Hermitage, containing 200 acres, from Mr. Waller, of Castletown, for £6,000, in 1789, built the house and made improvements estimated at £10,000, all which he disposed of In 1802 to the third Lord Massy, for £20,000. Mr. Bruce was founder of the Limerick Clnb, and a banker ; his bank house was the house So. 6 Rutland Street, now an auction mart.

ttt Author of the Sougay. lie used to say that his cousin, Standish O'Grady, of Grange, "sent his thildrta to church through fear of Us wife, and went to Mass himself through fear of the devil".

1882 Henry O'Grady, The Grange, 1850 Eyre Lloyd, Prospect,

1883 Thomas Lloyd, Beechmount, 1851 Henry Maunsell, Fanstown,

1834 G. M. Mannsell, Ballywilliam, 1852 John Low, Suuvale,

1835 Wm. Monsell, Tervoe, 1853 Hugh Massy, Riversdale,

1836 Vero Edmond De Vere, Curragh Chase, 1854 F. C. F. Gascoigne, Castle Oliver,

1837 Stephen Edward Spring Rice, Mount Tren- 1855 Sir K. D. De Burgo, Island House, Casi

chard, Connell,

1838 James Denis Lyons, Croom House, 185C John White, Belmont,

1839 General Sir Richard Bourke, Thornfield, 1857 George Gavin, Eilpeacon,

1840 Richard Harte, Coolruss, 1858 Caleb Powell, Clonshavoy,

1841 James Kelly, Ballynanty, 1859 Heffernan Considine, Derk House,

1842 Michael Furnell, Caherilly Castle, 1860 Henry Lyons, Croom House,

1843 Robert Maxwell, Islandmore, 1861 Helenus White, Mount Sion House,

1844 Richard Quin Sleeman, Cahara, 1862 Edward Croker, Ballinagarde,

1845 Edward Crips Villiers, Kilpeacon, 1863 Joseph Gubbins, Kilfrush,

1846 Wm. H. Barrington, Glcnstal Castle, 1864 John Franks, Ballyscaddane,

1847 Sir David Roche, Carass, 1865 Sir David Vandeleur Roche, Bart., Cans

1848 Francis W. Goold, Dromadda, Court,

1849 Samuel Frederick Dickson, of Vermont, 1866 Henry Westropp, Esq. (M.P. for Bridg

water), of Greenpark.

The Right Hon. the Earl of Dunraven is Lord Lieutenant of the county and Custos Rotasrum.

D.

CAHEBIVAHALA.

Near this locality is " the Rock of the first (or the hundred) fires", Carrig an Ceud taut, i bold and lofty rock; also remains of ancient fortifications, a large rath, and an old chord. Near Ballinagarde is the Hill of Knockla, which appears to have been strongly fortified.

FEDAMOEE AND FRIARSTOWN.

In this neighbourhood is Cloch-na-Monach, or the "Monk's Stone", the remains of *s» ancient buildings ; the line remains of two ancient abbeys, founders unknown; also a large dun or fort.

HOSPITAL, a town four miles east of Bruff. In the church is the figure of a knight, said to be the fonnte. in the niche in the chancel. It was formerly a locality of the Knights Templars, and pssseJ by gift of Queen Elizabeth to Sir Valentine Browne, who erected a fortress called Kenmsrt. The hospital is gone, and the castlo very nearly so. The commandery of Knights Templars w»» founded by Geoffrey de Mariscis, about 1215.

EALEIGHSTOWN

is near Hospital. In the church of the Recollects (Paris), was a monument erected to tie memory of a scion of the house of Raleigh of Raleighstown, with the following inscription.—

Messire Michel de Ealeigh de la famillc dc ltaleighstown, vivant captain commandant si regiment infanterie Irelandise de Berwick, Chevalier de l'ordre mtlitaire do t^int Louis, qa eut 1' honneur de servir 42 ans, sous les regnes de Louis XIV. et XV. et mournt 31st Decaar, 1732, age de 76 ans.

I am informed that Mr. Richard Ealeigh, of Patrick Street, Limerick, Mr. Gibbon Raleipi. of Castlemahon, and Mr. John Raleigh, of Kyle, in the county of Limerick, are descendants of tia ancient family.

SHANAGOLDEN.

A post town, twenty miles \v. of Limerick. Here is a curious circular compartmented meat. The entrance was from the east, by which it is said the Irish forts were distinguished rias those of the Danes. A little to the south is the ruin of Shanid Castle, whence the DesaKatis. who deprived the MacSheehy s of it, derived their war cry of " Shanid-a-boo". Between Sia* golden and Foynes is Knockpatrick Hill, on the slope of which a church is said to have bees built by St. l'atrick, whose chair and well arc shown in the adjoining field. The hilJ, whki is 574 feet high, commands an extensive vu w of five counties. Seats.—Shanagolden House ssJ the Glebe House.

PALLASKENRT.

A market and post town, twelve miles w. of Limerick. The Chnpel Russell Loan Fund, estaV lished in 1823, gave a great stimulus to trade iu this neighbourhood. Flax dressing, spinaif. and linen weaving are still carried on here. Numerous petrifactions hare been found In the waters of a stream and pond near the town. The castle, of which the ruins are not far distant, was built by the O'Donovans, but subsequently hold by the Fitzgeralds. An ancient silver bodkin and a golden fibula have been found near the church.—Seats—Castletown (Rev. J. T. Waller).

GEEANE was formerly an incorporate town, and had a collegiate church. A.D. 968, at Sulcohid Pass the Danes defeated by the Irish, and driven to Limerick. By the old road which passes near Derk, the handsome seat of H. Considine, Esq., J.P., King William marched his army to LimerickThere is a moat about a mile from the church, eastwards of the old castle of Kilduff. Near Lynfield are the remains of Kilcolman church, which was founded in the seventh century, and also Knocksifien on the top of Knockgreanc, where, in penal times, tradition has it the priest used to officiate. Mass Bock, or Carriganfaiu, is shown to the visitor. The rocks at Lynfield are basaltic.

MEMORIAL STONES.

Pillars, Steles, or Inscribed Stones, have been found in Limerick. There are two Ogham Stones in the Earl of Ounraven's demesne, for which see his Memorials of Adore.

ROUND TOWERS.

Dr. Petrie states that the majority of these towers were erected about tho ninth and tenth centuries, though history gives the foundation of a round tower in the sixth century. To some towers, as at Clonmacnoise, he assigns the date of the twelfth century. The generally received opinion which he has argued out, is, that they were used lor the double purpose of belfries and castles. Others think that they were anchorite towers, or penitential houses, or fire temples, or built by the Danes, perhaps for watch towers. In Irish they are called generally Cloictheach, and in a few districts Clogar or Cuiltheagh, all meaning '• belfries". The finest of all is in Devenish Island in Lough Erne.

THE SO-CALLED DANISH FORTS AND TOMBS OF THE EARLY IRISH.

Sir W. Wilde, in his interesting lecture on "Ireland, Past and Present", remarks that if the Danes had erected these curious mounds, the popular belief would not ascribe them to the Fairies or "Good People"; more probably they were constructed by the Tuatha de Danaans, whose name they preserve. These were "globular-headed, intellectual, and refined specimens of humanity", as compared with the "long-headed, thick-skulled "Firbolgs". The latter or "early pre-metaUic Irish", buried their dead lying at full length in a stone sepulchre, covered with a huge monolith, of which there are two specimens in tho Phoenix Park—one in the Zoological Gardens, and the other behind the Military School; the Tuatha do Danaans buried their dead in the " Kistvaen" or stone chamber, sometimes small and sunk beneath the level of tho soil, sometimes rising into the great cromlech, miscalled Druid's altars, and consisting of one large superincumbent stone supported by four others. These latter have been denuded of their tumuli, and rifled of their contents at the beginning of the Christian era. The body must have been placed in a doubled up or crouching attitude. Mortuary urns containing fragments of burnt bones have been found in some of the latter tombs. Two thousand years at least, according to Sir W. Wilde, have elapsed since the construction of these earthen raths, stone circles, great forts, and sepulchral monuments. The sarcophagi of the Firbolgs and their contemporaries contain flint weapons and shell ornaments, but no metal, and were originally covered by mounds of earth. We suppose many of these raths were fortified in the wars of Strongbow and Cromwell.

FOSSIL DEER.

Several fine specimens of these huge animals are preserved in Adare Manor. Numerous specimens of these Fossil Deer have been found by William Hinchy of Thomond Gate, in Kilcullane Bog, within two miles of Lough Gur, in which a great number of the bones of the Fossil Cow bave also been found. Hinchy had lately one of these deer measuring twelve feet eight in a straight line from the tail to the mouth, and ten feet across the antlers. He had two others of somewhat lesser size. He sold two of them to the Dublin Society for the sum of £60. They were male and female. Lord Powerscourt gave him fifty guineas for another.

CROPS AND CLIMATE OF LIMERICK.

The Registrar General's statistics, published in 1865, state the total extent under crops in

Limerick at 194,207 acres, which shows an increase of more than 3,000 acres on the year 1864.

"The county of Limerick", says Fitzgerald, "is so much exposed to the winds from the

Atlantic ocean, that the air is generally moist. The following is the result of atmospherical

observations made in two consecutive years:—

1810. 1811. Days with rain 217 246

Nights with frost 76 53

Greatest general height of the thermometer, in shade, in summer, 72; greatest depression, 58: in winter these figures are 54 and 28 respectively, yet the natives are remarkable for longevity" In Limerick, however, as elsewhere, the climate is somewhat altered since Fitzgerald wrote

« PreviousContinue »