« PreviousContinue »
of the diocese.
“Conn O'Mellaigh (O'Malley) bishop of Enaghdun, and a bright ornament of the Church ;" and again, at A.D. 1241, the death of “Muircheartach O'Flaherty, bishop of Enachdun.”
The episcopal district connected with the Extent, &e. church of Enaghdun appears to have been originally coextensive with the seigniory of the O'Flaherties, whose territory before the year 1235 embraced a large tract of country lying on the east of Lough Corrib, and of the town and river of Galway. But when this part of Ireland was planted with castles by the English at the period referred to, the O'Flaherties were driven to extend their settlements toward the west, where their district of Iar-Connaught was fined to the limits of Moycullin and Ballinahinsy barony's, and of the half baronys of Ross and Aran ;"* while the diocese of Annadown came thenceforth to be regarded as an English interest, and the maintaining of a line of bishops there, independent of the see of Tuam, (as far as any others in the province) a favoured object of the English princes.
On the death of bishop O'Flaherty above- Flo. Mac mentioned, another named Concors was conse- the annexacrated for his successor in Enaghdun.
But tion of
See O'Flaherty's h-Iar Connaught, by Hardiman, (ut sup.) pp. 1-6 and 247.
Enaghdun Florence Mac Flin, archbishop of Tuam, [A.D. diocese to Tuam.
1250-1256,] resisting the appointment, entered on possession of the see, and retained it against him, representing to the king, (Henry III., in A.D. 1251,) that the church of Enaghdune was but a parish church belonging to the archbishopric of Tuam, but was made a bishopric by the king's presenting two bishops to it; and that he, the archbishop, had procured a bull from the pope to reduce it to a parish church as before, which bull he begged of the king to confirm. And the king was induced to do so, and complied with his wish in A.D. 1252: notwithstanding which, however, controversies were carried on concerning the bishopric of Enaghdun for 76 years after, and the king's assent was given, during
that interval, to many elections to the see. * J. de Ufford
Thus on the death of Archbishop Thomas appointed bishop of O'Connor, who governed the see of Tuam, and Enaghdun, with it Enaghdun, for 20 years, (from A.D. 1259 the posses- to A.D. 1279,) part of the canons of Tuam hav
ing elected for their archbishop a Franciscan friar named Malachy, his election was confirmed by the king. The pope however nulled it, and by his bull, dated July 12, 1286, translated Stephen of Fulburn, bishop of Waterford, to the archbishopric of Connaught, who was restored
sion of the
• Harris's Ware, pp. 605, 606.
to the temporalities of his new charge on the 15th of September in the same year. Meanwhile the people of Enaghdun, taking advantage of the vacancy in Tuam, had elected for their bishop John de Ufford, a learned and amiable person, who, through the influence of his relative, Sir Robert Ufford, then Lord Justice of Ireland, obtained the royal assent on the 16th of March, 1282, and was thereupon consecrated. Stephen, however, succeeding to the archbishopric of Tuam about four years afterward, commenced an action against the bishop of Enaghdun, who lost the suit, and surviving it not long, left his antagonist in undisputed possession of the see.*
The next archbishop of Tuam, William de Gilbert, Bermingham, having succeeded to his office with elected bir the approbation of both King Edward I. and successfully Pope Nicholas IV., received possession of the pretensions temporalities on Sep. 29, 1289, and took care, of huam.
. like his predecessors, to annex the church of Enaghdun to his archbishopric. It seems that by his directions also, (to remove the insignia of authority out of the reach of any rival in the latter place,) Pbilip le Blound, archdeacon of Tuam, took away the mitre, the pastoral staff, and other pontificalia of the bishop of Enagh
• ib., p. 607.
dune, from a convent of friars at Clare, where they had been deposited for safe custody until the creation of a new bishop. However, in the year 1306,* the dean and chapter of Annadown assembled and proceeded to elect for their bishop a Franciscan friar named Gilbert, without applying, as was usual, for the king's licence to elect in the first instance, or for the royal assent afterwards ; for which offence Bishop Gilbert was obliged to pay a fine of £300 before he was restored to the temporalities of his see, and the dean and chapter passed security by letters patent that for the time to come they would never again, upon the occurrence of a vacancy, shew such a disrespect for the royal authority.
Archbishop Bermingham steadfastly resisted the appointment of Gilbert to Enaghdun, claiming it as a parish church of his diocese; and even passed over into France with a complaint to the
pope of the injury done to him. But he lost his labour: for Gilbert meanwhile, on appeal to
and in de spite of his utmost opposition gains possession of Enaghdun;
The papal Taxation, commenced in this year, (see Art. XXI. sup.) mentions the diocese of Enaghdun as then recently separated from Tuam, and assigns to it in addition to the cathedral and two monasteries, twelve parish churches, included in the deanry of May. drig, viz. ;-1. Mecheri. (or Meray:) 2. Foranmore, (Oranmore :) 3. Foranbeg, (Oranbeg ;) 4. Roscom, (now a townland in Oranmore, with a round tower, about two miles S.E. of Galway;) 5. Galvy, (Galway ;) 6. Killeny; 7. Kellfynsyt, (Killursa ?) 8. Donnaghpa trike; 9. Killawyr, (Killower :) 10. Rathmyalid, (Rawyn, or Ra. hoon ?) 11. Struthir, in Muntircuda, (Shrule, in Muntir-inurroghoe, now the barony of Clare ;) 12. Kilkelwyll, (Kilkelvery.)
the primatial court of Armagh, was confirmed in his bishopric, consecrated thereto by the Lord Primate, John Taaf, and restored to the temporalities on the 15th July, 1308.*
The see of Enaghdun continued after this in- which condependent of Tuam for about twenty years, un- pendent of der Gilbert and three of his immediate succes- Tuam 20 sors, viz., James O’Kerney, who was advanced to the bishopric by provision of the pope, John XXII., and held it to 1324 or 1325 ;—Robert Petit, "then late Bishop of Clonfert ;"—and Thomas O'Maley, who died beyond sea in 1328 or 1330.
Means had however been provided ere this for Malachy subjugating the see of Enaghdun to Tuam once exertions to more. Malachy Mac Æda, “ of West Connaught displace extraction,” (i. e. one of the sept of the O'Fla- reannex Anherties) having been elected archbishop of nadown to Tuam, (in 1312,) approved of by the king, and confirmed by the pope, was restored to the temporalities of his archbishopric on the 1st of April, 1313, and appears to have commenced his career with a determination to reduce the lead to a Anglicans of Annadown to his obedience. The complaint systematic hostility and opposition with which from the he assailed Bishop Gilbert above mentioned was
England to such as to cause the king, Edward II., to address the pope.
Harris's Ware, 608.